Home Should Be Safe: Installment Six by Mina R. Raulston

In the years following my divorce I remember studying the facts and statistics about domestic violence, not only to help myself but to help others in their struggle for healing and deliverance. One thing I remember that stuck with me so hard was that the curse of abuse most generally continued in the lives of victims. Sons were statistically said to become abusers like their father. Daughters were known to marry abusers like their father. And the women who escaped their abusers were said to repeat the abuse cycle with one partner after another. 

I can happily attest that this is not necessarily so. In my own life, once I received God’s healing and deliverance God helped me to build a new life, further my education, find better employment and raise my children in love and safety. I stopped searching for my worth in another person. My children grew up learning to love and serve God. They are happily married and in careers they love. Their lives are stable and safe. My life is also stable and safe and the joy of the Lord is my strength (Nehemiah 8:10C).

I have also made acquaintances with other women and children who have escaped their abuser. And the ones who were most successful in rebuilding their lives were those who found their comfort and strength in Jesus Christ. Regardless of where you are in your journey, know that Jesus Christ is the source of your strength, your protection, your provision, your salvation, and your deliverance. Please feel free to ask questions or post prayer requests in the comments of this blog post. 

About minarraulston

I have been a freelance writer for more than twenty years. I have now branched out and also provide editing services and I am a public speaker. I write, edit and speak on a variety of subjects. One of the main subjects I speak and write about is domestic violence. As a survivor of domestic violence I speak out for those who can't or are too afraid to speak out. Domestic violence is a crime against the family and I believe as a society we do all we can to end it and help those who have been victimized by it.

Posted on August 31, 2020, in Domestic Violence, ministry. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment