Home Should Be Safe – Installment Five by Mina R Raulston 8/24/20

After spending many years with an abuser, you may struggle with self esteem issues for quite some time. When I finally got divorced I had lost confidence in my ability to do much of anything because my ex-husband had undermined everything I ever did. My self-esteem was in the negative. Since I was so low, once God healed me I began a study of the women of the Bible to see what God expected of me. It became a Bible study which I taught for two 9 week sessions at my church. We are God’s daughters and once we are saved we come under his protection. Look up the women in the Bible for yourself. I’m working on compiling mine into a published Bible study, but there are many books on the market about women in the Bible, and there is always the Bible itself. That’s where I started. There are women who were traditional, like Naomi and Ruth, women who were in government like Esther and Deborah, women who were prophets like Huldah, and women who were ministers and Bible teachers like Priscilla. Jesus treated women with love and respect, not as slaves or even servants. There were women who were leaders in his band of followers, look in the stories about him in the New Testament. 

No matter what, know that God loves you and Jesus loves you. You are a daughter of the most high God. No where in scripture does it say that God approves of men mistreating their wives, daughters, mothers, and sisters. No where. 

Both in Malachi 2 and I Peter 3 the Bible says that how a man treats his wife will determine how God answers his prayers. God will not honor the prayers or even offerings of a man who mistreats his wife. 

God loves you and wants you and your children safe. It is not his will that you live in danger in your own home. 

About minarraulston

I have been a freelance writer for more than twenty years. I have now branched out and also provide editing services and I am a public speaker. I write, edit and speak on a variety of subjects. One of the main subjects I speak and write about is domestic violence. As a survivor of domestic violence I speak out for those who can't or are too afraid to speak out. Domestic violence is a crime against the family and I believe as a society we do all we can to end it and help those who have been victimized by it.

Posted on August 25, 2020, in Domestic Violence, ministry. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment